when too much ice cream did some good.

the beautiful, fluffy clouds peeking out of towering skyscrapers of magnificent architecture. the heat of the summer that causes sweat to roll down your back and your clothes to stick, clinging to your body. the mouth-watering smell of foods from all around the world entering my nose at once, mixed in with more-than-welcome wafts of sewerage, exhaust, and garbage. the sounds of all different tastes of music makes me want to dance… jazz, pop, swing. along with that, the noises of a city are evident — cars honking, people yelling, an ambulance screaming to pass through. stands and vendors selling anything and everything from sunglasses, falafel, caricature, nuts, gyros, posters, and sun-hats. the city is always a buzz — people bustling, moving to and fro. people heading to work, stopping to take photos, begging for money… i feel a sense of community in this city when i see groups of people playing chess and checkers together

after the 20-something of us campers and instructors have been walking 20+ blocks in the intense heat of the day for several hours, i can hear many murmurs of complaints. complaints of hunger, heat, and exhaustion from walking. our camp instructor ducks into a nearby Walgreens and after a few minutes emerges with boxes of ice pops and ice cream bars in hand. we squeal in delight, and my face brightens as well. we pass the frozen deserts around until everyone has one. to everyone’s surprise, we have plenty extra; even after the dudes grabbed their seconds. so, we scatter the streets giving the leftovers away.

i held a few ice cream bars in my own hands, approaching people and asking if they’d like one. with such joy, it suddenly becomes me with an offering. an act of kindness from a random stranger to a fellow random stranger. the delight on so many faces shows something beyond simply the ice cream bar. i realize then how such a little act can go far. there weren’t any words exchanged beyond my question and a thank you. but i smile when i remember the pleasant, surprised look people gave me when extended my offering. i smile when i remember the huge grins i saw when they took their first bite out of that ice cream bar. from the “average” person to the “less fortunate.”

for some reason i don’t normally think of NYC as an esteemed place for someone to live. this week my eyes were opened in how i viewed city life. i zoomed into what people were doing. i observed how people interacted. they were no longer people bustling to get somewhere. they had personality, they had facial expressions. i realized it’s not so much where someone lives, or what they do, the clothes they wear, how clean they look. each person has a heart and a story — just like you and me. it was a wonder what an ice cream bar can do. a real, human to human experience in a revolving city world.

we made a blessing out of a problem by having too many ice cream bars in NYC this week. it did some good — for the giver, and the receiver. i never thought i would get so much out of a field trip to NYC. i started my day with anticipation of visiting professional design firms, agencies, and exhibits. but i took away a whole lot more.

I’ve been there a million times
A couple of million eyes
Just move and pass me by
I swear I never thought that I was wrong
Well I want a second glance
So give me a second chance
To see the way You’ve seen the people all along

Give me Your eyes for just one second
Give me Your eyes so I can see
Everything that I keep missing
Give me Your love for humanity
Give me Your arms for the broken-hearted
The ones that are far beyond my reach
Give me Your heart for the ones forgotten
Give me Your eyes so I can see

{give me your eyes, brandon heath}

sigs

Leave a Reply

